Forums Rules Staff Calendar Leaderboard Quick Links Clubs Awards Member Shop OH! Press
Sign in to follow this  
krystalice

I need some advice about my college major

Change major?   

9 members have voted

1. 1. Should i change my major or stay in computer science

• Change major
    • Stay in computer science

I'm majoring in computer science and I absolutely cant take it anymore, i hate it so much. My  parents are forcing me to do this major when all i wanted to do was major in social work or anthropology. Its not that i dont think i can handle the work load, its just that i despise doing it and learning about it. Im in my 2nd year now and i really want to graduate on time and im scared if i change my major im going to 1. be behind/not grad on time 2. disappoint my parents and 3. have a lower salary in the future. These calc classes are also really killing my gpa and I try my best with it (ive always been more of an english person than math). Do you all think i should stay with the major or change it? i really tried my hardest to stay interested and work hard in it but im at my limit. I know a lot of people are either going to be like youre a baby just stay in it or will be like just change out of it if it affects your happiness, but its really easier said then done. Sorry for how long this was.

I think you should change your major why continue doing something you despise? You may not want to disappoint your parents but at the end of the day it's your future. You'll regret not changing your major later in life 

• Like 1

finishing a degree in a major you despise won't help you in the long run

because at the end, you'll be qualified to continue to do what you hate as a career and not want you actually want to do. I've seen so many people finish a degree in something they don't like because of their parents and then after college they never want to return to what they studied again - meaning their degree is practically useless.