Forums Rules Staff NEW Themes Leaderboard Quick Links Clubs Awards Member Shop OH! Press

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Salieri

Has anyone ever thought about quitting a degree/job?

I'm asking because I feel that I will be doing that soon (for my own postgrad studies), has anyone on this fourm ever thought about quitting a job or your own degree?

My current problem for my degree is:

Not understanding java and the maths behind computer science and finding myself lost in what I really want for my job.  Fear of failure in terms of the course, having to fail one course, getting a tolerated fail in one other and passing just by scraping the grade. Furthermore, I feel my passion in computer science really just dropped over the months I’ve been studying it. I just don’t see myself in the filed after I graduate and really just lost all passion in studying it. I'm getting pretty high grades in my course but I lost all motivation to keep going (been like this for 3 months and I'm completely lost)  My only reason to keep doing the course is because I'm scared of the unknown.

The good things about the course I've found out was:
Meeting my peers and being able to understand why something happen and getting the degree but seriously after the 5 months I really don't see myself doing it for the future of my life and quite frankly it just makes me really dislike technology for the way it is. I love the market and how innovations work but quite frankly I just hate the development of one and understanding what things does.

If anyone has could someone give me some advice here?

yes, I've thought about quitting my current job and moving on a lot of times, especially since business has been slowing down a lot and we're no longer as busy as we used to be (I work in a restaurant--low sales = less tips), and plus working in a restaurant is not a lifelong kind of job unless you're going into management. 

yeah