Search Engine

Advanced Search

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

The schedule for an ordinary trainee

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 adda

adda

Legend

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,457 posts

Posted 13 September 2014 - 02:10 AM (Edited by adda, 13 September 2014 - 02:23 AM.)

I’m relatively new in k-pop and I don’t understand some things. For example: the training period. I’ve read an article about the schedule for an ordinary trainee.

Don Lee is an ex- trainee of JYP Entertainment. On his YouTube Channel he spoke about the schedule for an ordinary trainee. (Donleebaby, 2012) A day at JYP starts at 10am. For two hours trainees practice their dancing or singing skills. At 12 o’clock they eat lunch. In the afternoon the classes start.These classes are for singing, dancing, rapping, Chinese, instrument lessons, acrobatics, acting and Korean. These classes are between 1 and three hours long. Every trainee has their own schedule. At 6pm it is dinner time and after that trainees practice till 10pm. After that they are free to go, but most of them keep practicing more if they have a show coming up. They do this 6 days a week. At the end of every month there is an evaluation to see if trainees are improving. Trainees are allowed to have some free time. They are allowed to go to the movies and sometimes JYP would take the trainees to a concert. 

“competitive team orientated workplace. You are simultaneousl y working with each other to get better, but you also try to outmatch each other. [...] I do not want to leave you with the image that it was a cutthroat competition. It was a pre tty nice place to practice actually. People there are genuine nice and if you ask for help, they would gladly help. And they will not sabotage you or backstab you. ” (Don Lee, 2012)  source: (pg.34)